Connect with us


Blink-182 releases eighth studio album, NINE

Published on

American rock trio, Blink-182, has released its eighth studio album, NINE, which they collectively describe as their idealistic sound for 2019.

The internationally acclaimed rock band released NINE today, 20 September 2019, three years after their seventh studio album, California. The album, which has no featured artists, showcases frontman, Matt Skiba’s vocals throughout, with guitarist and backup vocalist, Mark Hoppus, lending his bass tone throughout. Drummer, Travis Barker, also powers through the song list, adding his signature rock beat to each track.

The 15-track album includes their previously released singles; Blame It On My Youth, Generational Divide, Happy Days, Dark Side and I Really Wish I Hated You, which was recently released on Friday, 6 September 2019. NINE is reminiscent of their earlier hits, with the subject matter of age defiance, lack of remorse and living freely, remaining consistent. Each track includes their rock heavy instrumentation, with Matt Skiba’s scream-tone vocals emphasising their hardcore sound. The album also showcases their progressive new music choices, which have been unheard of in their past records. The songs explore modern electronic beats and textures, which is unassuming for the rock band.

In an interview with Apple Music’s Zane Lowe, Mark Hoppus stated, “NINE is everything that Blink-182 should be in 2019. [We] are just trying to write great songs and not worrying about ‘Is this the quintessential blink guitar-heavy distorted sound?’ If you plug your guitar into a computer and it sounds great, then run with it.”

The album is available for purchase on Apple Music.

Listen to NINE below.

error: Copyrighted Content