How to remove “Open to work” on LinkedIn

You can remove the #OpenToWork feature from your profile completely using a desktop, iOS, and Android device in a few different ways.

There are many built-in features on the LinkedIn platform that help recruiters and job seekers connect with each other.

However, advertising that you are open to new opportunities with the “Open to work” feature is not for everyone and it can easily be disabled.

What features does LinkedIn have?

LinkedIn offers its users various opportunities to connect and interact with professionals in their field. This platform is especially useful for job seekers, as there are built-in features that can help them find vacant positions and can help recruiters find your profile.

Besides its functionality as a networking tool and a book of contacts in your industry, the skills, endorsements, and recommendations features as well as features like the “Jobs” board and personal or business profiles can really help you research which skills are needed in your field, who you need to be talking to, and how to set your profile apart from those of the other users on the platform.

How to remove “Open to work” on LinkedIn

As useful as these features are for both finding vacant positions and applying for them, as well as for recruiters that are looking for candidates to fill their positions with the right skillsets, some of the features can also make your profile look cluttered.

While the “Open to work” frame or #OpenToWork feature placed on your profile picture on LinkedIn can help notify recruiters that you are open to new career opportunities, many people do not want this frame displayed on their profile picture for all of their friends, families, colleagues, and other connections to see.

If you currently have this frame added to your profile picture on the platform, you should know that you can set the “Open to work” feature to only be visible to recruiters. This does not remove the feature from your profile completely, and still allows you to choose preferred positions and areas, but it is not visible to everyone who views your profile.

Although LinkedIn does try to prevent recruiters from your current company from seeing the “Open to work” feature if they come across your profile in a search for similar skillsets, the platform cannot guarantee a recruiter from your company will not see the frame on your profile.

This is why it is important that you know how you can remove this frame from your profile completely on your desktop, iOS, or Android devices.

How to remove “Open to Work” on a desktop device

To remove the #OpenToWork feature from your LinkedIn profile using a desktop device, you need to open your personal profile to edit this feature.

You can follow these steps:

Step Description
Step one: Open your personal profile page Click on your profile icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage
Step two: View your profile Click on the “View profile” option
Step three: Edit the #OpenToWork feature Find the box for the #OpenToWork feature and click on the “Edit” button
Step four: Delete the feature Click on the “Delete from profile” button to disable this feature on your profile

How to remove “Open to Work” on an iOS or Android device

Removing the #OpenToWork feature from your profile is slightly less complicated when you use a mobile device. You simply need to click on your own profile picture instead of visiting your profile and change the settings from there.

To do this, you need to complete these steps:

Step Description
Step one: Open your profile picture Click on your profile picture to view your profile
Step two: Edit the #OpenToWork feature Click on the “Edit” option for the #OpenToWork feature, which should be at the top of the box
Step four: Delete the feature Click on the “Delete from profile” button to disable this feature on your profile

Alternative method of removing the “Open to work” frame from your profile picture

Recently, LinkedIn has made it even simpler for you to remove the “Open to Work” frame from your profile picture on the mobile application, which you can access from iOS and Android devices.

You simply need to click on your profile picture, as you would in the above process, but instead of viewing your profile, you need to click on the “Frames” option.

Then, you can select the “Original” option from the various frame options.