Which celebrities have joined I Believe Mohale movement

Multiple media personalities have rallied behind the I Believe Mohale campaign, in order to have businesses take action against Somizi Mhlongo.

Ntsiki Mazwai took to Twitter on Monday, 2 August 2021, as one of the first media personalities to publicly pledge her support for Mohale Motaung. On Sunday, 1 August 2021, the country was rocked with a scandal following allegations of emotional and physical abuse levelled against Motaung’s estranged husband, Somizi Mhlongo. Initially, except for the circulation of the allegations by Twitter users, celebrities did not speak on the matter.

However, following the audio which the article referenced being leaked, and a man believed to be Motaung telling his side of the story about the realities of his relationship with Mhlongo, more media personalities have spoken out on social media. The aim seems to be to have brands and the radio and television platforms that Mhlongo is associated with take action against him, as was the case with personalities such as DJ Fresh, Euphonik and Mangaliso Ngema.

Media personalities that have rallied behind the I Believe Mohale call-to-action have suggested that the difference between Mhlongo’s situation and that of the aforementioned male personalities is the matter of his orientation. Therefore, due to Mhlongo being part of the LGBTQI+ community, he is reportedly being treated with kid gloves. Considering the age difference between Motaung and Mhlongo, and the leaked audio and story, suggestions have been that Mhlongo attempted to groom the young man into their relationship.

However, it seems that commercial South Africa is not intending on taking any action against the star just yet. This is as Mhlongo still fronted the popular Metro FM segment, Ask A Man. Moreover, Idols SA has not released word on the matter since it became headline news yet, nor have Mhlongo’s other brand and endorsement deals.

Media personalities that have expressed their support of Motaung include Lerato Moloi, Penny Lebyane, Simphiwe Dana, Amanda Black, Masasa Mbangeni and Nokuthula Ledwaba.

See the post below.